Feliz Día del Tinto from a wannabe baker

Two days ago I returned to Colombia. Yay, back to coffee land!

Just in time to NOT be able to celebrate National Coffee Day in the U.S. with coffee shop freebies. *sigh*

At Dunkin’ Donuts you get only the dunk, but Krispy Kreme hands out both donuts and coffee. At Peet’s the coffee is free only if you buy a bakery treat.

Donuts, donuts, and more donuts. Oh, and some coffee, as an afterthought.
Donuts, donuts, and more donuts. Oh, and some coffee, as an afterthought.

Munching on an orb of sugar to make our coffee palatable is like ordering an X-accino so heavily doused in flavored syrup and whipped cream that the coffee taste is obliterated.

National Coffee Day might as well be called National Donut Day plus a Hot Beverage.

In my absence, the oven has remained off, the flour untouched, and my husband has gotten accustomed to drinking coffee without sugar. I’m kinda a sugar fiend. I used our daily coffee times as an excuse for me to try out new recipes for cookies, bars, cakes, pies, and even one awfully oily batch of donuts.

Starting today, on National Coffee Day, the day my fellow Americans drink their way through donuts, I will take the first step to undo my sugar addiction: I will learn to drink tinto (black coffee, no sugar) with no sweet on the side.

I raise my mug to el Día del Tinto.

¡Salud!

Leave a Reply

